How Canada’s New NOC Will Affect Express Entry Eligibility

In November 2022, the Canadian government will implement the 2021 National Occupational Classification (NOC) system which will affect the Express Entry eligibility.

According to a recently leaked internal IRCC document, the new NOC system will change the way IRCC considers work experience; 16 new jobs will become eligible to apply via the Express Entry system, while three would become ineligible.

Express Entry is the quickest and most popular immigration route in Canada. Because the NOC code is required for Express Entry eligibility, the anticipated changes will have a direct impact on many candidates.

What Is The NOC System And How Does It Work And Affect Your Express Entry Eligibility.

To establish an applicant’s eligibility for Canadian immigration programs, the NOC system is utilized to classify their work. All occupations are divided into codes by the system. The codes are then categorized based on the sort of work and job responsibilities that a person does.

Candidates must select the NOC code that best reflects their work when applying to Canadian economic immigration programs.

When choosing a NOC code, an individual should consider the code’s key responsibilities and how closely they correspond to the responsibilities they have in their current position.

Read also:  How Can I Get Points For A Job Offer Under Express Entry?

In November 2022, There Will Be Changes That Will Affect Your Express Entry Eligibility.

Candidates must currently have work experience in occupational skill levels A, B, or 0 to submit a profile to the Express Entry system.

Currently, the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2016 version 1.3 determines the skill level of an occupation.

The Canadian government will use a new system, the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2021 V1.0, starting in November 2022.

The new NOC system will arrange occupations based on Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities rather than skill levels (TEER).

The Effect On The Applicants

The NOC system is used by Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to establish a candidate’s Express Entry eligibility.

Only candidates with work experience in NOC skill classes A, B, or 0 are currently eligible to apply for Express Entry. Occupations in TEERs 0, 1, 2, and 3 will be eligible for Express Entry under the new system.

Which Occupations Will Become Eligible For Express Entry In November 2022

Many occupations that were previously eligible for NOCs will be eligible for Express Entry as well. However, due to changing educational and experience requirements, 16 formerly disqualified jobs will be eligible for Express Entry.

In November, the IRCC will add the following occupations:

  • Administrators of payroll
  • Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants are two types of dental assistants.
  • Patient service associates, nurse aides, and orderlies
  • Technical and pharmaceutical assistants in pharmacies
  • Assistants to teachers in elementary and secondary schools
  • Bailiffs and sheriff
  • Officers in charge of corrections
  • Officers in charge of bylaw enforcement and other regulatory functions
  • Electrologists, estheticians, and other similar professions
  • Installers and servicers for both residential and commercial properties
  • Pesticide applicators and fumigators
  • Other services and repairmen
  • Drivers of transport trucks
  • Drivers of buses, subways, and other modes of public transportation
  • Operators of heavy machinery
  • Inspectors of airplane assembly and assemblers of aircraft.

In addition, due to the new rules, some occupations will become ineligible for Express Entry in November:

  • Other entertainers
  • Recreation, sports, and fitness program directors and teachers
  • Tailors, dressmakers, and farriers are just a few examples.
  • Milliners

Although the above three occupations will lose their Express Entry eligibility in November, they may still be eligible for other programs such as Provincial Nominee Programs.

Most importantly, individuals with experience in one of the aforementioned 16 occupations who were previously ineligible for Express Entry may now be permitted to do so.

Read also:  How You Can Boost Your CRS Score for Express Entry

How To Find Your TEER Level

To know your TEER level under the new 2021 method, you must first be aware of your NOC code.

If you remember your previous NOC code, you can search for your new code using Statistics Canada’s Correspondence Table. Visit our How to Find Your NOC Code guide if you don’t know your occupation code.

Once you’ve located your code, look at the second digit of your five-digit NOC code to determine your TEER level. The 2021 code for Web Developer, for example, is 21233. Because the second digit is 1, this occupation is classified as TEER 1.

While your occupation may be eligible for Express Entry, you must meet additional minimum requirements to apply.

NOC 2021 will classify occupations using a five-tier hierarchical approach. In addition, instead of the current four-digit system, vocations will now be coded with a five-digit system. There are six categories in the TEER system: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.


Management  occupations 


A university degree (bachelor’s, master’s, or doctorate) is required; or

Several years of experience in a given occupation (when applicable).


Completion of a two- to the three-year post-secondary education program at a community college, institute of technology, or CÉGEP; or Completion of a two- to a five-year apprenticeship training program; or

TEER category 3 occupations having supervisory or major safety duties (police officers and firefighters); or several years of experience in a specialized TEER category 3 occupation (when applicable).


Completion of a less than two-year post-secondary education program at a community college, institute of technology, or CÉGEP;

An apprenticeship program that lasts shorter than two years;

More than six months of on-the-job training, training courses, or specific work experience combined with a high school diploma;

Several years of experience in a specialized TEER category 4 occupation (when applicable).


Secondary school graduation;

Several weeks of on-the-job training in addition to a high school degree

Several years of expertise in a specific TEER category 5 occupations (when applicable).


No formal education is needed. Only a short practical demonstration is required. 


Do well to adhere to the NOC code, procedures, and files to be eligible for Express Entry. Don’t forget to make sure you chose the right NOC code because it’s the most important part of your immigration application.  Good luck!

Leave a Comment